Mechanism Dev Diary 1

Woke up this morning and started messing around. After a few hours I had this:

Mechanism Shot 1

Pretty, isn’t it? (That’s a joke, by the way).

I don’t know where I’m going with this, but I know what I’m going to call it: Mechanism. I also know how I’m going to build it: using Java. Java isn’t a language most people usually associate with video games — with the exception of the out-of-this-world success of Minecraft, that is.

So…why Java? The answer is simple: I’m doing it as a challenge. I have restricted myself to using only the standard library, no add-on JARs or external game engines allowed. That means I will have to code the entire game from the ground up, all the way down to the famous loop all game engine developers have come to hate:

while (true) {
tick();
render();
}

As a side note, I’m most comfortable with Java, so it should make the going a bit easier.

To reiterate, I have no idea where I’m going with this. But I’m committed to finishing Mechanism and seeing where that’ll take me.

Leave a Reply

