February 2013 UDK Beta

After a long break, Epic’s latest beta of the Unreal Engine is out! Obviously the most important new addition is Substance, something I don’t fully understand yet since I haven’t had the time to play around with it. But what it claims to do is aid in dynamic texture creation, which not only reduces static texture sizes (and therefore game sizes) but virtually eliminates tiling in large maps. Should be great for mobile if it works there! Oh, and I should probably mention there is support for dynamically changing values in UnrealScript. Insert drooling here.

We also get a neat new showcase of the technology from Allegorithmic, and a free pack of starter materials which you can get here.

This year my work with UDK has slowed pretty much to a crawl, but maybe this was just the thing I needed to get back into it. Such an addition, not to mention dropping an Android version of Epic Citadel, may herald a big batch of goodies just over the horizon for indie developers.

2 thoughts on “February 2013 UDK Beta

  1. Excellent blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress or go
    for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused .. Any recommendations? Thanks!

    • Thanks! It depends a lot on what you want to have on your website. I chose a free platform (and more specifically a blogging platform) because all I wanted was to share thoughts and ideas. But a lot of people want to brand themselves, customize their website, etc. For something like that you will probably need a hosted site.

      If you are lost, I would suggest going free first. Later on you can always “migrate” your WordPress (or whatever else) to a paid site or even just link to it.

Leave a Reply

