Doom 3 Source Code

I haven’t posted for nearly a month now, and to any Constant Readers (which I can assume are few in number) I apologize. Also, a Happy 2013 to you all!

This morning I stumbled upon a brilliant article about “The Exceptional Beauty of Doom 3’s Source Code.” It’s not often that I get to read an article about not just how a game plays but how its underlying code is structured, and why it should be a model for us all. As I am slowly weaning myself off of UDK and moving into C/C++ land, the source of an engine as well-known as that of Doom 3 was an exciting prospect.

The article lead me back to an even more detailed analysis of the code here. For anyone even slightly interested in rendering I suggest you check out the “Renderer” part of that site. And then of course you can grab the code base here for Windows 7 and here for Mac OSX.

I’ll be looking through the code in the next few weeks, but I won’t be posting my thoughts about it unless something really interesting pops up. More on what I’ve actually been doing in my month-long hiatus later.

Leave a Reply

