It’s That Time of the Year Again…

That’s right, time for another Top 10 Games list!

Admittedly, I wasn’t sure if I was even going to do it again. My list last year and the accompanying video were a great success (at least by my standards, and I don’t think very many serious Top 10 lists get a 70%+ like ratio on YouTube) considering that they were pretty much spur-of-the-moment. This year I’ve had more time to think, and things like Google’s shutdown of YouTube video downloads in the wake of SOPA and more work at school have made it harder for me to take on such a project.

But what the hay.

This year I’m doing something different, and blogging a bit more about my process before dropping the finished product. So first step, a list of candidates (in no particular order):

  • Halo 4
  • Journey
  • Super Hexagon
  • Borderlands 2
  • Assassin’s Creed 3
  • Dishonored
  • Mass Effect 3
  • Diablo 3
  • Max Payne 3
  • Spec Ops: The Line
  • Darksiders 2
  • XCOM: Enemy Unknown
  • COD: Black Ops 2
  • Unmechanical
  • Far Cry 3
  • Hawken

The last two haven’t been released yet, so I can’t very well judge them, now can I? A few of the remaining games I haven’t actually played yet…but like I said, there’s a fair bit of research involved in my selection process. If I haven’t played it and it’s there, that means a lot of other people have not only played it but enjoyed it. And I’ll get around to them eventually.

Last year I restricted my list to the “big-name games” — in other words, the games you see in TV commercials and on the news and such. I did this because it’s inherently unfair to group indie or mobile games with the big guns (a #1 game on a list of Top 10 Indie Games might not even make the Top 10 Overall list, even though it’s the cream of the crop). This year I’m looking for any video game.

If you, dear reader, somehow stumble upon this post and want to add a game of your own, please comment. The more feedback I get the better the final countdown will be.

Leave a Reply

