UDK Cover System?

I’ve wanted to make a cover system in UDK pretty much since I started working with it, but like many others before me I utterly failed. If you’re thinking about making one, a great place to start would be on this thread. The problem, of course, is that this implementation is missing animations — and as a coder, I suck at making animations.

Then today I came upon this video:

Yes, it’s blatantly stealing the Gears characters and animations. But what’s remarkable about this is that it actually works. You see, code from Gears of War is practically un-steal-able (I know because I’ve tried), so the stuff in the video has to be running on custom code. Now because “ArcanumGames” can’t do anything with the system anyways (the assets are copyrighted by Epic), a much better alternative would be to share the code with the community!

I suggest we all try to bribe it out of him/her. $20 or a plate of cookies would do the trick 🙂

4 thoughts on “UDK Cover System?

  1. I really want to make a cover system for my game, but the website is down and I can not get the files. I was wondering if you could email me the UDKcoversystem.zip file. Thanks

Leave a Reply

