Closing Out the Year

It’s been a while since my last blog post because I’ve been unhappily on vacation — a vacation consisting of studying for college finals, getting ready for the holidays, and playing games.

Lots and lots of games.

As a developer of any kind, one of the most important things that you can do to get “better” is keep abreast of recent developments in your field. For me, that means buying all the new hot releases and playing the hell out of ’em. But this year, to close out a rather spectacular 2011 in gaming I’m doing something a little different: I’m actually reviewing the games I play. It’s been a strenuous last few weeks and I’ve pretty much played myself to death, but the end is almost near.

But as always at this time of year, it’s great to keep things in a positive light. Playing each of the games I’ve invested so much in (*cough* sixty dollars *cough*) and really taking in the pros and cons of each has made me appreciate what I do even more. If you stop for a second — really stop, free yourself from the aches of 100% completion or leaderboards or achievements — and take in the game as it was meant to be played, you’ll find that it’s a much more rewarding experience.

So here’s to a happy holiday season, and I’ll be back very soon with the fruits of my labor. But for now…I’ve got a few more games to play πŸ˜‰

8 thoughts on “Closing Out the Year

      • yea no prob..

        Sorry but i need to be stuborn: CHRISTMAS break! πŸ˜› sorry πŸ™‚

        im hopin to do more stuff for my game/s too.

    • Just curious, mainly because I have no idea where I’m going with this AI thing…

      what kind of AI would you like to see in the tuts? try to make it something feasible/simple too so i can actually do it πŸ˜›

      • maybe like halo combat evolved style?

        btw when i said we should make an ai i ment like be able to at the end i didnt think we would actually make an ai! i love the tuts.

        oh and r we also gonna be able to code other stuff by the end?

    • oh i misunderstood πŸ˜› i thought you wanted AI scripting to be the main focus of the tuts…

      that’s cool tho, i may not be able to do something as advanced as Halo’s (theirs is mainly event scripted anyway) but i’ll definitely make some improvements to the UDK ai

      and yea, i’ll make sure to cover most of the applications of UScript so you should be able to do menus, huds, etc. too

    • well…i already have weap tuts on youtube… πŸ˜›

      it’s like the AI is following a script, like they’re actors in a movie. for example, in the campaign if the covenant rushed a bunker in a certain way (split up, flank, etc.) that seemed smart, its not cuz they actually figured out how to do that by themselves. they were just going along with the “event” set out by bungie beforehand

Leave a Reply

