Learning UnrealScript – Introduction

OVERLY INTRODUCTORY INTRODUCTION (skip this section if you want)
In my YouTube videos I often give out a lot of code without much explanation. I do this because if I were looking for a quick UDK tutorial, I’d want it to have as much code as possible — who cares about how it works, I just want it to work.

The downside to this is that a lot of people have trouble getting my code to work in their own games. Why? Because they don’t really know how to program in UnrealScript and, rather than learn it, they have hunted for someone who has already done what they want to do (i.e., me).

I’m not putting any of you down for not knowing UnrealScript. After all, I of all people should know that learning a new programming language is hard. When I started working with UDK I had only the most basic knowledge of BASIC and C, two languages that are very different animals from UnrealScript. I was extremely lazy and hard-pressed to finish my game, and learning UnrealScript seemed like far too much work at the time. But as it became more and more necessary, I decided to just dive into the proverbial abyss.

Turns out, UnrealScript is one of the easiest programming languages to learn…and it’s also one of the most powerful.
END OF OVERLY INTRODUCTORY INTRODUCTION

With that in mind, I’m starting a new series of posts centered around just “learning UnrealScript”. We’ll start with the very basics, such as what UnrealScript is and how it works with the rest of UDK. We’ll progress to working with various classes from UDKGame and seeing what they can do for your own game. And we’ll end with an advanced application: making your own AI.

So what are you waiting for? Let’s go, shall we?

TUTORIAL LIST
Part 1: What Is UnrealScript?
Part 2: The UDK Directory
Part 3: Your First Class

One thought on “Learning UnrealScript – Introduction

  1. Pingback: Learning UnrealScript Part 1 – What is UnrealScript? | WillyG Productions

Leave a Reply

